Aztec Inca Maya Timeline

February 8, 2018 – 03:38 pm

1100 - The Aztecs leave their homeland of Aztlan in northern Mexico and begin their journey south. Over the next 225 years the Aztecs will move many times until they finally settle down at the city of Tenochtitln.

1200 - The Aztecs arrive in the Valley of Mexico.

1250 - They settle in Chapultepec, but are forced to leave by the Culhuacan tribe.

1325 - The city of Tenochtitln is founded. It will become the capital of the Aztec Empire. The location is picked by the priests because it is where they see the foretold sign of an eagle holding a snake while standing on a cactus.

1350 - The Aztecs begin to build causeways and canals around Tenochtitln.

1375 - The first dominant ruler of the Aztecs, Acamapichtli, comes into power. They call their ruler the Tlatoani which means "speaker".

1427 - Itzcoatl becomes the fourth ruler of the Aztecs. He will found the Aztec Empire.

1428 - The Aztec Empire is formed with a triple alliance between the Aztecs, the Texcocans, and the Tacubans. The Aztecs defeat the Tepanecs.

1440 - Montezuma I becomes the fifth leader of the Aztecs. His rule will mark the height of the Aztec Empire.

1440 to 1469 - Montezuma I rules and greatly expands the empire.

1452 - The city of Tenochtitln is damaged by a great flood. The next few years are filled with famine and starvation.

1487 - The Templo Mayor (Great Temple of Tenochtitlan) is finished. It is dedicated to the gods with thousands of human sacrifices.

1502 - Montezuma II becomes ruler of the Aztec Empire. He is the ninth of the Aztec kings.

1517 - The Aztec priests mark the sighting of a comet in the night sky. They believe the comet was a sign of impending doom.

1519 - Spanish conquistador Hernan Cortes arrives in Tenochtitln. The Aztecs treat him as an honored guest, but Cortez takes Montezuma II prisoner. Cortez is driven from the city, but Montezuma II is killed.

1520 - Cuauhtmoc becomes the tenth emperor of the Aztecs.

1520 - Cortes forms an alliance with the Tlaxcala and begins to attack the Aztecs.

1521 - Cortes defeats the Aztecs and takes over the city of Tenochtitln.

1522 - The Spanish begin to rebuild the city of Tenochtitln. It will be called Mexico City and will be the capital of New Spain.

Works Cited
Related Posts